The Temporary Protected Status (TPS) law was signed by President George H.W. Bush in 1990. Congress approved this humanitarian program, which allowed the Secretary of Homeland Security to designate a foreign country for TPS. The Secretary will from time to time designate a foreign country for TPS after gauging the conditions in that country that temporarily prevent the country’s nationals from returning safely. Primarily, the conditions that lead to the designation of a country as TPS include natural disasters, armed conflicts, or other “extraordinary or temporary conditions.” Although TPS does not lead to legal permanent resident status (with a few exceptions), an alien who has been granted TPS is not removable from the United States, can obtain employment authorization, and may be granted travel authorization.

Currently, the following countries are designated for TPS:

  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • El Salvador
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Somalia
  • Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Syria
  • Ukraine
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen